Articles in this section

Creating and Using Groups

Groups allow Accelerator Admins to granularly manage Asset Permissions for their Accelerator Users.

As a reminder, Assets are any permission-based object where activity can be tracked and audited. Folders, templates, campaigns, and shared content are considered Assets. Each one of those items can have different permissions applied to them, which allows administrators to control which groups of users should have different levels of access.

For further detail on assigning Permissions: Managing Assets

To add a Group, simple click Add Group from the Groups page. Clicking the Name of a Group from the Groups page will open the Group Details page, which displays the group creation and change timestamps. From this page, you can edit the group name or completely remove the group by selecting the Edit or Delete option from the Actions drop-down list.

To add or remove a Group's Users, edit individual User profiles.
To add or remove a Group's Permissions, edit Asset Permissions individually or at the folder level.

 

Asset Permission Levels for Groups

Permission Type Users within the Group CAN...
Read View the asset
Update Edit or move the asset
Delete Remove the asset from Accelerator
Execute
  • Content:
    • Quick Launch
    • Use the following testing functions
      • Spam Filter
      • Content Evaluation
      • Email Clients
      • Subject Line
  • Campaigns:
    • Marketing Campaigns
      • Send Test
      • Launch campaign
      • Schedule sends
      • Use Spam Filter testing
      • Use Multivariate (A/B)
    • Transactional Campaigns
      • Send Test
      • Promote campaign
      • Use Spam Filter testing

Working with Groups

The Everyone Group is automatically created and applied to all Accelerator Users. Users cannot be removed from the Everyone Group.

A User's access is primarily limited by their defined Roles, and secondarily limited by the highest level granted Permissions for the Groups they are in. 

Example Scenario

User A is in the Everyone Group

User B is in the Everyone Group and a Designers Group you have created

In Content, you have your Templates in a folder with the following permissions defined and applied to all children:

  • Everyone: Read
  • Designers: Read, Update, Execute

Result:

User A has Read-only access to the folder and its contents

User B has Read, Update, Execute permissions to the folder and its contents

 

Ideas/Use Cases

  • Since Users cannot be removed from the Everyone Group, use this Group as a Read-Only Group and add expanded permissions with additional Groups
  • Use Groups to limit Users in certain teams to specific projects
  • Limit Execute (campaign sending) permissions to decision-makers only by placing their User profiles in a Group, and removing Execute permissions from other Groups who have access to Templates and Campaigns
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.